Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! New rider, new owner of a white 2022 Z400. I love the bike but Im being “overly” careful on it and it’s caused me to dump it twice. Once while taking a turn that was too tight at a speed that was too low which locked the bars to the side and another where I was coming up the driveway and again a turn that was too slow, and NO bike stands up on its own that I know about anyways lol. And I’ve had a few “wheeeew!” moments too.

My confidence has taken a bit of a beating and I know that these bikes are not bad, it’s not the bikes fault, it’s mine, I’m just learning really slow. I’m learning more every time I go out to ride though and with every bit of info I can soak up from YouTube and other riders and in the forums. So thats not a big deal. I’ll overcome that with time.

It made me wonder though, not having much experience with riding any other bikes besides the Honda Grom, is the Z400 more “top heavy“ than the Ninja 400? There is the more upright riding position which would affect it a little bit but that’s just feeling right? Or is the Ninja, being a sport bike, built with a lower center of gravity?

Thanks for your input!
S

·
Registered
2019 Ninja 400 ABS, Pearl Storm Gray
553 Posts
I think the Z and Ninja are about the same from a spec perspective -- same frame, same seat height even... As you said, the rider might be a bit more upright on the Z (I've never ridden one), but I expect rider weight has more effect than rider position.

You'll even notice a difference in handling from a full to empty tank (and certainly if you carry gear) -- it just takes practice to get used to slow speed maneuvers.