Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
501 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

Currently standing at 500km. Since I started riding it i jerk the bike all the time while switching gears. Ive come to notice my throttle have 1cm of freeplay and that is giving me all the problems. I went to the locknut and adjuster on the throttle but i cant fit any spanner there because its messy and all the other stuff are in the way intrupting... and its too hard to loose with my fingers. Going to the shop wont happen because I need to keep it at 4K RPMs and just waiting for the break in treatment. Can anyone maybe do a "how to" video and enlighten me on the ninja 400.. because it seems i need to take the fairing off just to do a little adjustment.

·
Registered
5,628 Posts
Yes it's fiddle but you shouldn't need to remove fairing. Try turning your bars to the right so the throttle tube housing is exposed more. Also try using long nose pliers to loosen lock nut and turn adjuster. Easier to get in there.

·
Registered
744 Posts
Yup, I adjusted the throttle and clutch free play as well as the shifter pedal immediately when I went home from the dealers lot. Gotta make your own fine tuning.

Like Kiwi Rider, I used two long-nosed pliers. Be advised, the throttle adjuster and lock nut are plastic. So don't go over-tightening them.

Reactions: Kiwi Rider

·
Registered
501 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yes it's fiddle but you shouldn't need to remove fairing. Try turning your bars to the right so the throttle tube housing is exposed more. Also try using long nose pliers to loosen lock nut and turn adjuster. Easier to get in there.
Yup, I adjusted the throttle and clutch free play as well as the shifter pedal immediately when I went home from the dealers lot. Gotta make your own fine tuning.

Like Kiwi Rider, I used two long-nosed pliers. Be advised, the throttle adjuster and lock nut are plastic. So don't go over-tightening them.