Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve been riding for roughly 2 years and traded in a fairly new Kawi z650 for the 400. Lower displacement may seem like an odd concept, but I wanted a bike with ABS, something not as quick to keep me from doing something stupid (I’m a new father), and what can I say, I love the way it looks.

That said I’m regretting my decision... it’s not the speed, it’s the way my hands lie. The handle bars smoke my palms. After 20 minutes of riding I experience discomfort. I bought new riding gloves and grip puppies. Nothing is working. The Z650 was so comfortable... does anyone have a remedy for this? I’m already looking at new bikes...

·
Registered
199 Posts
Common problem for many riders making the transition to a more aggressively positioned sport bike.

The short answer is that you need to hold your position using your body's core as opposed to leaning forward on the bars. Your grip should really be VERY light on the bars, elbows well bent, and only be pressing on them to counter-steer.

Probably not the answer you wanted to hear, but it comes with the territory and does take some time to get used to.

I’ve been riding for roughly 2 years and traded in a fairly new Kawi z650 for the 400. Lower displacement may seem like an odd concept, but I wanted a bike with ABS, something not as quick to keep me from doing something stupid (I’m a new father), and what can I say, I love the way it looks.

That said I’m regretting my decision... it’s not the speed, it’s the way my hands lie. The handle bars smoke my palms. After 20 minutes of riding I experience discomfort. I bought new riding gloves and grip puppies. Nothing is working. The Z650 was so comfortable... does anyone have a remedy for this? I’m already looking at new bikes...

·
Registered
43 Posts