Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone

I wanted to see if there were other riders like me that are tall and heavy that can ride a 400? I am 6'2" 330 pounds. A lot of people say move up a size to like a 650 but I am new to motorcycles and want something smaller to learn on and then move up. Is a 400 going to be good for me to learn on and ride?

Thank you so much

· Registered
541 Posts
My 2 cents since I've owned both (2017 650 and 2018 400). The 400 should be okay, but you might end up wanting a bit more power. The slightly more powerful 650 (about 40lb heavier bike fyi) might be perfect for you but the suspension was soft as a donkeys anus. It was way too soft for me and I only weighed 145 when I owned it. With either bike, you'll probably want to upgrade the suspension to something more stiff.
I think you'd be okay with either as a starter bike, just be smooth and progressive with your learning curve. Be responsible and do not get egged on by other riders and drivers. I've had a friend or two eat it trying to keep-up or try to pass cars at terrible times (even though we had a detailed pre-ride meeting and took turns).
Just two notes regarding that since I see it too much
1) Keeping-up: if you're trying to close the distance on the straightaway, be aware that you'll need a lot more braking time to make the same corner at the same pace as the guy you're trying to catch (who is probably faster, so you'll have to slow down even more and earlier than they did).
2) Passing: DO NOT pass right before a turn unless you are 100% confident in your ability to make the oncoming turn. When you overtake someone right before a turn, it drastically sharpens the angle you need to make the turn. I see this happen to both new and more experienced riders. Additionally, you shouldn't be doing this often in public roads. Be patient when you're riding or you will eventually end up injuring yourself and maybe others.