Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
223 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I have been calling around to different dealerships about trailers. I work in Construction Management and all our of projects are getting hit hard with lead times on various materials. Steel and lumber have shot up in cost along with a lot of other various materials.... plumbing, electrical, etc. It seems manufacturing plants either are behind on production from being shut down during COVID and do not have their normal man power and/or manufacturers do not have the materials required for their production processes.

Apparently buying trailers right now is no different. I talked to one dealership today and they said a lot of the smaller dealerships are even going out of business.... there just are no trailers available from manufacturers for dealerships to sell.

All that said, I put an order in for a 7x14 tandem axle trailer. T-Rex is the brand. They have a "white out" package. It looks quite nice (probably will be tough to keep clean). Electric brakes on both axles, .03 exterior skin, ramp, 7' interior height, 2021 T-Rex Trailers | 7x14 | Enclosed | 2-3.5k Axles | White Out | Ramp Gate 0000067170 | Lone Star Trailers

It is a good looking trailer with some of the features I was looking for. However the price on this trailer has gone up about $1200 in the last month..... Yea, not thrilled about that.
I could find a different trailer for less, but if I am really going to be doing this I wanted to get a higher quality trailer. This has 16" OC framing, 1 piece roof, and many other features that the cheaper trailers do not have. Lead time for this trailer is about 4-5 weeks. So I am hoping to have it before my next track day and race.

I am planning to do the following for the trailer build
  • Flooring - Some kind of flooring... maybe epoxy? Maybe one of those rubber mat floors? Not sure... and welcome to suggestions