Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all :)

As topic title, I've put down the deposit and as long as it's as described when I see it on Saturday then it'll be mine, an '18 Ninja EX 400 Performance edition in black with 1571 miles. I've been riding 125 scooters since 2012 but have owned quite a few geared bikes previous to that. I have a near 100 mile ride home (home is North West UK), hope this little Ninja is ok keeping up with motorway (freeway) traffic? I'm excited :D

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Welcome. Wow, an '18 that's barely broken in!

Don't worry about the motorways, these 400s are happy to ride 80 mph all day and have a top speed in excess of 100 (at least in US spec).
Thankyou. That's good to know about the cruising speed. Yeah it's pretty low mileage, lack of use is why they are selling the bike. Once I have it I will upload a pic or 2 :)

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
My old 1984 CH250 would do 100+KM on the highway, but it was like riding a small plastic toy with tiny wheels - but at 100KM :)

ah sounds like fun! in 2016 i rode a 2004 honda dylan 125 from the UK to Spain, never went over 100kmh! literally everything overtook me. i had a blast!

·
Registered
631 Posts
Welcome. Wow, an '18 that's barely broken in!

Don't worry about the motorways, these 400s are happy to ride 80 mph all day and have a top speed in excess of 100 (at least in US spec).
I think realistic (easy) highway cruising is 90 mph. Top speed is going to be 110ish.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
True. But it's my understanding that the highest legal speed in the UK is only 70 mph. We don't want to make the OP jealous.:giggle:
You're correct, motorways are 70mph. there's widely thought to be an unwritten rule that police will turn a blind eye to anything up to 85mph (safely) on a motorway. i think 70mph is just fine, if i can cruise at that then i'll be happy.