Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

Registered
I've always worn a helmet. You need a helmet with visor on sportbikes and nakeds. But I also used a helmet on my first bike, which was a cruiser with a windshield. It's not an imposition, it's an IQ test. :giggle:

I started riding in North Dakota, where it's mandatory for minors (under 18) but optional for adults. Except if the rider is required to wear a helmet, then the passenger must also regardless of the passenger's age.

Wisconsin, where I live now, requires a helmet for minors and for people with an instructional permit (learner's permit). The state also requires eye protection for everyone unless the bike has a windscreen at least 15 inches higher than the handlebars.

Registered
California here, we鈥檝e had helmet laws forever. New Mexico didn鈥檛 require them for adults when I lived there. I rode around town without a helmet a few times; it was exhilarating, but also seemed pretty stupid and I went back to always wearing one.

Registered
The province of Quebec will not remove the obligation of wearing a helmet. Lately, the mandatory motorcycle courses are very safety oriented (even more than they used to) which honestly is a good thing. I remember that I was kind of rolling my eyes of certain things they said but after 2 years of riding I realize that every single thing was important.

I remember back in the day when my dad had a small motorcycle, there were no helmet laws and we were riding 3 or even 4 on the same bike. That was cool and when they introduced the mandatory helmet law, to me, as a kid, it seemed weird.

Now, I would not consider riding without at least a helmet or gloves, even short distances.