Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
All,

I could use some pointers:

I have been riding street bikes since the '80s but my first time on a track was in October 2020. I then bought a 2018 Ninja 400 and have participated in track days at Barber Motorsports several times since in Novice. Also spent a weekend at Summit Point and got to ride Shenandoah and Summit Main on consecutive days. Moved up from Novice to Intermediate late in the day at my last Barber track day. Running right at 2 minute laps.

I am 58 years old and a total newbie to track riding, as I mentioned, only started in 2020. My 400 is stock except for a few odds and ends to reduce weight by maybe 8 pounds:
  • Remus Slip On
  • Tail Tidy
  • Reflectors removed
  • Removed left passenger peg bracket assembly and replace right assembly with a lightweight muffler hanger
  • Mirrors removed
  • Aluminum, adjustable side-stand
And engine wise:
  • ECU flash by Spears
  • Spears velocity stacks, but didn't cut the airbox
Suspension:
  • Totally stock, not even fork oil change.
  • As far as I know, factory height on fork.
  • Rear spring one below highest "preload" (Not sure if that is the correct term, but it is second from firmest if that makes sense).

I had my first track day low side at Barber about a month ago. It was a tight left hander (turn 5 / Charlotte's Web). I had passed a couple of early braking bikes and came in off my normal line (further inside), but was confident I would get through the turn fine... until the front end tucked and I saw sparks and went sliding. At least that is what I think occurred. It felt like the front went first. Was able to re-tech and continue the remainder of the day.

Tires:
  • GP300s with several track days. I think I was at 27 PSI Front, 31 PSI Rear semi-cold.
  • Tires felt warm upon exit from track, but not so hot that I couldn't leave my hand on them.