Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 58 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I look forward to taking delivery of a Z400 in the next few weeks. Thank you for letting take advantage of the great information on this forum. Living in South Carolina I am able to ride year 'round. Dad bought me my first bike in 1964, bought it home from a dealer 30 miles away in the back of a '56 Plymouth (seat removed). Over the years I have owned a number of motorcycles; Yamaha (80-1300cc), Honda 650, BMW 1150, Moto Guzzi 850 and Suzuki Burgman 400. This will be my first Kawasaki. Very excited to start putting some miles on it. I'll be 74 soon and not being as strong as I once was I expect the lighter bike will be a blessing.

Registered
I only started riding 2 years ago and I'm turning 60 this year. Started out with a Honda GROM and then got the Ninja 400 last May. I have a newly-purchased Ninja 1000 SX now and I am afraid to ride it b/c of the weight. We'll see once it warms up and I can actually ride it, but there's no way I could right it if i dropped it. The Ninja 400 is about as heavy of a bike as I can manage to prevent dropping. No such luck with a 500+ pound bike.

Registered
The key here is staying upright (obviously).Turned over a 650 in my garage but could not right it because the tires slid on the smooth concrete not because it was too heavy. Im 64. IIt's all in leverage and technique using your legs. There are videos of small women leveraging large bikes upright. Also there would be absolutely no shame asking for a hand. Was at Deals Gap, The Dragon this past summer and someone turned over pulling out of the parking lot. There were 3 people there in an instant to give them a hand before I even realized what had happened.
馃悏

Registered
2021 Ninja 400, 1998 Honda VTR1000 SuperHawk