Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i just recently got a used 2018 Kawasaki Ninja 400 and noticed a white milky substance in oil.. any ideas? Also should temp be that high?
BTW im new to riding.
Automotive lighting Speedometer Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive tail & brake light

Automotive tire Automotive lighting Bumper Grey Bicycle part

·
Registered
619 Posts
The milkiness in the oil viewing window indicates either that:

1. the oil has a lot of water in it due to prolonged condensation caused by too many short trips in cold weather, which were insufficient to warm up the engine enough to vaporize the water. If so, just ride it at least 10 miles each time you start it up, and this will clear itself up

OR

2. You have a coolant system leak that is leaking coolant into the oil. Longer rides will NOT cure this if this is the real problem. You'll need to have a motorcycle dealer do a diagnosis and repair since you are a newbie. If this is the problem, continuing to ride the bike will cause great damage, so don't. Get it looked at very soon.

The temperature gage reading being high (5 bars) MIGHT be confirming problem no. 2 above. But, it is also fairly common to see 5 bars on the Ninja 400 / Z400, especially when riding a lot in city traffic or other low speed environments.

Jim G

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The milkiness in the oil viewing window indicates either that:

1. the oil has a lot of water in it due to prolonged condensation caused by too many short trips in cold weather, which were insufficient to warm up the engine enough to vaporize the water. If so, just ride it at least 10 miles each time you start it up, and this will clear itself up

OR