Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My first long distance ride was on a Kawasaki 400. It was the KZ400 variant, air cooled, kick-start, and drum brakes. The minimalist bike as it's best.
I was fresh out of high school having bought the bike before I graduated. It was red with a black and gold stripe on the tank. Largest bike I had ever ridden at the time. I had an Amoco back rest integrated with a rear rack that was beneficial in hauling whatever I needed for the trip. I was to travel 335 miles from northern Louisiana to southern Missouri. Being my first trip, I really didn't know how much pain my rear posterior would suffer. I left out early in the morning and road northward until I was near Little Rock, Ark (150+ miles). There I filled the tank and got a burger. I sure noticed my rear starting to ache. I walked around a bit to ease the pain. I was getting close to a halfway point. I rode throughout the afternoon up hwy 167 then to hwy 412, then hwy 395 that turned into hwy 17 when I crossed the Missouri state line. I did stop somewhere in northern Arkansas to refuel (Salem maybe?), but don't recall where that was at. The pleasant Ozark mountain air was much drier than the humid Louisiana air I was used to. The mountain highways were fun to ride also.
I rode into West Plains, Missouri and looked for a motel with a swimming pool to cool off, as it was in the middle of June (summer weather). The KZ 400 rode well with no issues at all (it had less than 3k miles on it), my back side though, felt it had just crossed the 100k mile mark. What a relief the swimming pool was! I had made the trip to train for a new job, which was to start the next day. Being 18 years old, it didn't take but one night to recover from the ride. These were some very good youthful memories. Just me, the Kawasaki 400, and a weeks worth of apparel on a new life's adventure.