Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys and girls,

Problem
In a short story my ABS is on all the time, solid. It worked perfectly some days ago and suddenly wouldn't turn off when i started riding.

What I have tried
I have tried the different solutions found on the forum, and it has not been resolved. Thats why I am starting a new post.
  • Tried cleaning both sensor and abs-ring.
  • Trying to do the reset code driving method
  • Charge the battery (was nearly full)
  • Disconnect the battery (read that this wouldn't clear the codes though)
  • Compare front ABS and rear ABS to watch the distance to the ABS-ring, the rear seemed a touch closer.
  • Looking at the fuses, all are good.

Changed tire
I changed my rear tire, and i have ridden about 120 miles with the ABS light off and all seeming normal. So I feel it could be something related to that, but its a bit weird that I have driven 120 miles without the light being on.

Stuff to note
  • Speedometer working totally fine. But is starting to register at higher speeds such as 3 mph. (This could something I am just aware of now, i haven't though about it earlier)
  • When you turn the key to the "on" position you hear a initiating process, maybe fuel pump or something, this sound does not "initiate" each time I turn the key to the "on" position.
  • I usually store my back inside a dry garage, but the last days it has been outside being exposed to rain, warm weather and large amounts of pollen.

Reason why I am asking the forum
So I come from Norway, where there are few Kawasaki certified workshops and we have long waiting time for repairs, its about 3-4 weeks. I hope to get a quick workshop time for a diagnosis, so I could repair it myself. But the bike is still under warranty, and repairing it myself could void that. (5 years warranty in norway)
I hope that someone has had a similar problem, and any suggestions are very much appreciated.