Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys. i need to replace my rear brake pedal, and i have been looking all over the internet for tutorials but cant find anything since the 400 is so new. I'd like to consult you guys before tinkering with it myself to figure it out. If anybody could direct me to a video, or even make marks to describe what to do on this picture, it would be much appreciated. Thanks for any help!

·
Registered
107 Posts
No idea, but you can probably find a Ninja 300 service manual and it should be very similar if not the same process.

·
Registered
5,656 Posts
I'd have to have a look at it, it's dark out there at present. What were you wanting to do? Remove the pedal completely?

·
Registered
423 Posts
I'm a newbie when it comes to motorcycle maintenance and service but I plan learning how to do simple maintenance, repairs, and mods. I'll try to explain what I believe are the main steps to remove the rear brake pedal. There are many experts on this forum so I'm sure someone can provide better instructions and tell me if my instructions are off.

Tools: Hex Key and Needle Nose Pilers

1. Remove the 4 Hex bolts that is holding the footpeg/rear pedal. I think it's a 6 or 8 mm hex key.
2. Take off the heel guard with the two hex bolts
3. Slowly take off the remaining hex bolts to remove the footrest. Based on the pic you posted, there is a spring that I believe is for the rear brake light sensor when the pedal is pressed. This will need to be unattached carefully from the footrest. A little hard to visualize without pics.
4. There's also a larger spring that connects the rear brake pedal to the footrest. That spring will needs to be taken off in order to release the rear pedal from the footrest.