Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys im new to motorycycles and just got a ninja 400 i have some questions please bare with me. I just got my license today and im riding and want to know if i am riding correctly? As the manual states Im supposed to be under 4k rpm for 500 miles which I do very well once in a while I go just a tad above 4k. When riding right before or at 4k rpm i change gears for example im in 2nd gear about to hit 4k so i switch to 3rd and so on. I just dont want to damage my bike, another thing is when im in a lower gear the whole ride is very jittery or shakey maybe because im in the wrong gear I just dont want to break anything? Because today i heard a noise but wasent sure if it was gravel or a rock hitting the bike or something popped on the bike. Also when downshifting i shift lower when i need to brake does it matter at what rpm i shift
can someone also make me a grpah saying when to upshit gears at what speed and what speed to downshift at? So sorry guys :crying::kiss:

·
Registered
5,637 Posts
Hi there. You've just got your licence so wasn't there some sort of MSF type training course involved with that? If so surely they taught you these fundamental things that your asking??

My advice would be just relax, take note of the section 3.55 - 4.20min in the clip that Hoser kindly posted and above all do not run it at too lower revs or you will make it 'jittery and shakey' as you say. Don't worry about the 4K max thing (oh god, know I'm in for it :rolleyes:) These engines are pretty well put together, you have to work pretty hard to damage one!
They have a rev limiter built into the ECU so you cant over-rev them and if you let it rev too low it will just stall after some severe lugging. Not ideal but you wont break it in one go.
Have fun out there. :)

·
Registered
423 Posts