Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2018 Kawasaki Ninja ABS Matte Black
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Ninjas,

I replaced the rear brake pads 4 weeks ago with HH sintered pads because one side had worn unevenly. Now, 4 weeks of moderately much riding later, they look like this:

Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive design Automotive fuel system Bumper

BASICALLY, one side is not wearing at all, the other seems to be rubbing against the brake rotor even when brakes not applied. When I turn the rear wheel manually to do chain maintenance, i can hear an interval 'shh.......shhh...sshh' from the rotor. I bought new pads and pins, and see if that'll fix it. Will take rear apart this weekend and replace rear wheel and then also clean and do the brakes. I am very new to motorcycles but trying my best to get goot at maintenance and technicals.

Any ideas what could be causing this? What should I be looking for? Should I replace rotors?

Best,
M

·
Registered
2018 Kawasaki Ninja ABS Matte Black
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Hey Ninjas,

I replaced the rear brake pads 4 weeks ago with HH sintered pads because one side had worn unevenly. Now, 4 weeks of moderately much riding later, they look like this:

Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive design Automotive fuel system Bumper

BASICALLY, one side is not wearing at all, the other seems to be rubbing against the brake rotor even when brakes not applied. When I turn the rear wheel manually to do chain maintenance, i can hear an interval 'shh.......shhh...sshh' from the rotor. I bought new pads and pins, and see if that'll fix it. Will take rear apart this weekend and replace rear wheel and then also clean and do the brakes. I am very new to motorcycles but trying my best to get goot at maintenance and technicals.

Any ideas what could be causing this? What should I be looking for? Should I replace rotors?

Best,
M

·
Registered
2019 Ninja 400 ABS, Pearl Storm Gray
369 Posts