Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yesterday on my group ride the guy behind me crashed his brand new R6 into a deep ditch shattering straight through one of those plastic boxes housing internet stuff, luckily I saw him and got some people to turn around and help him, he was lucky and was okay, it only looked like cosmetic damage. So that made me think, if that was me what could've happened ya know? I currently wear:
Helmet: Scorpion EXO-R420 ($150)
Jacket: Alpinestars Men's Viper V2 Air ($200)
Gloves: Alpinestars Men's SMX Plus V2 ($115)
Pants: Regular denim jeans
Shoes: TCX Street Ace Air Shoes ($130)
All of this gear came from best beginner gear guides back when I started riding, almost everyone in my group rides wear full leather track suits, full boots with metal plating, gauntlet gloves and $700+ helmets. I definitely think that would look a little ridiculous on a Ninja 400 on the street but I was wondering which pieces of my gear should be upgraded, and possibly some recommendations I can look into. There is soooo much gear on the market I get a bit overwhelmed looking at it all. I definitely do not want to buy a $1000 track suit, while I could technically afford it, I cannot justify it on this bike for street riding. Riding weather in my area also ranges from 60-90F regularly. Usually hovers between 70-85 most days, so its very warm.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·

·
Registered
1,528 Posts
The gear you have already is not bad, its decent gear. But yes, the pants is the weakest link in it all, shoes are as well.

Those REV'IT! Vertex GT Pants would be much better. Or even the Iron Workers Jeans(both @Tracy and I have a couple pairs of the Cargo pants version, and like them)

Although the jacket is not leather, I have seen both adventure riders and sportbike riders go down in them and come away much, much better than those who did not have a jacket on.