Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I've been seeing people grounding their bikes in my country. I've yet to try it out, but I do want to know a few things though.

What benefit does grounding actually have? And does the N400 really needs more grounding? A friend of mine kept telling me that I don't really need grounding with new bikes, usually grounding is to help with old bike with worn/corroded battery wires. I've no knowledge on this, so kindly do share with me facts and opinions!

Sorry if I post it on the wrong thread, or if it's a touchy subject.

·
Registered
744 Posts
I've seen people add grounding straps to their cars to eliminate the static electric shock they get when they touch their car. But I've never experienced static shocks with a motorbike.

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
@mad_mardigen oh boi, am I stirring a poopstorm here?
@Kiwi Rider I dunno actually. Hence I'd like to know overseas opinions. And I don't think electrical storms has anything to do with it.

They usually claim it'll add better throttle response, brighter headlight, etc etc.

·
Registered
178 Posts
Sounds like this is a mod for older bikes with marginal electrical systems. No need for such a thing on the 400.

Now, if it is claimed to increase performance on a modern bike...well, whenever I ride naked, the sensation of speed is much greater....even though the GPS says otherwise. So, there's that.

·
Registered
5,656 Posts
@mad_mardigen oh boi, am I stirring a poopstorm here?

@Kiwi Rider I dunno actually. Hence I'd like to know overseas opinions. And I don't think electrical storms has anything to do with it.

They usually claim it'll add better throttle response, brighter headlight, etc etc.
:WTF:

Oh boy, I was being serious up until now, but after hearing that I'm reaching for the pop corn too. :D

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #9