Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 83 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As title says, I am making a go kart from a Ninja 400 2018 ABS engine I got locally. These are the only parts I purchased:
  • Engine itself (with everything on it)
  • Airbox
  • Harness
  • ECU & Fuse Junction
  • Voltage Rectifier

I'm an engineering student, but I havn't had much experience with engines so I did some reading of the service manual and tried to figure out what I need to plug in to just make the thing turn on. From pages 92-100 I thought that all I needed to plug in was:
  • Throttle Sensor
  • Crankshaft Sensor
  • Gear position Sensor
  • Vehicle Down Sensor
  • Ignition coils
  • Air pressure sensor
  • Fuel Injectors
  • Ignition button thing

Heres the plan I have executed so far:
  • Hook starter motor up direct to battery to see if it works (It did)
  • Plug in the items above
  • hook up the battery
  • Hope that pressing the ignition would start the starter motor through the ECU (I didnt, and this is where Im at now)
  • Put starter fluid in the airbox and see if it turns over (Didnt get here since the ignition doesnt start the starter motor)

So I must be missing something that needs to be plugged in, but after going through the manual I, I thought I plugged in everything thats absolutely required, but clearly im wrong. One of my big problems is that I have the harness but I have no idea what the connectors on the harness go to since they arent labelled and the manuals dont label them.

Here are pictures of everything: Some notes:
  • I ordered proper fuses, temporarily I just shorted them (I know this is bad but I just wanted to test to see if there were problems past the fuses)
  • Pictures show everything thats plugged in and isnt plugged in

Anyways, the help I would really appreciate is: