Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the sport bike game - but what do you guys think about the seat on this thing? I did a 70 mile jaunt up to see some family, and came back (140 miles round trip) and holy crap that seat feels like sitting on a rock. I didn't notice it as much just riding around town and to work and whatnot, but the longer highway stint was rough.

Is this something I'll just get used to, or do vendors eventually come out with aftermarket seats that are more touring-esque?

·
Registered
423 Posts
I'm not a fan of the stock seat and find it pretty hard also. I plan to give it some time and see if it will soften up before I seriously look for a replacement seat.

·
Registered
58 Posts
I've been really happy with the custom seats from both Corbin and Sargent I've bought for other bikes. My decision between which of those two brands usually comes down to aesthetics, price, and any unique functionality (e.g., height/angle adjustability) specific to the bike.

·
Registered
5,621 Posts
After 2500km of riding, it appears to be softening up for me or my butt is starting to harden up lol
They say with regard to Hiking boots that it's not so much breaking the boots in but breaking your feet in till they are used to the boot.
Could be the same for butts!

·
Registered
5,621 Posts
Aside from the firmness of the seat I feel like its pitched forward, I've been finding my "gentleman parts" getting smooshed into the tank at times. I'm sure Im not the only one having this issue?
Same, dont like it. Maybe we have oversize 'parts' ha ha.
I find myself pushing my butt back on the seat a lot.
I've just dropped my front end 5mm to accommodate some new bars so that wont help things either.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Has anyone gotten the OEM extended reach seat and can comment on how it is? I've had mine on back order (I need to call the dealer and see what the deal is...)