Ninja 400 Riders Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This was important milestone for me b/c now I've matched the mileage of the previous owner and every mile after is my own.
I'm still learning a lot and am getting comfortable w/ freeways; I signed up for a Ride to LIve course taught by police motorcycle cops!

1) While adjusting my clutch, I saw a long thread about the clutch plates and pins causing false neutrals and slippage. Is this something that applies to racers? So far no issues, but I will probably take the bike in for a service check in a month or so and I can order those parts to have them replace it if necessary.

2) Tires look good; but living in Southern CA, I have little experience w/ rain. When I replace them, is there a good brand that will help w/ rain/wet situations.

3) I've felt the ABS kick in twice on the rear brake. Does this mean I'm not using enough front brake as I've never felt it on my front? Also wondering if I got my moneys worth w/ the ABS, does that mean it saved me two drops already? Obviously I realize I should have been lighter on the rear brake.

4) I'm not sure if I'm engine braking correctly or abusing the slipper clutch. When I'm getting off the freeway at 65 in 6th gear, I roll off throttle, shift into 5th when bike is around 45-50mph, shift into 4th when it's 35-40mph and depending on the light either open throttle to keep going, or pull clutch in/brake/downshift to first and stop.

5) Related to this on the freeway, I've just rolled open the throttle in 6th for passing. I read people drop a gear which is when I think I should be rev-matching? Is this a racing thing or should I also practice it on the freeway?

6) I love the bike and the only upgrade direction I would consider would be something that handled wind/crosswinds better and could deal w/ wet roads... but I suspect this is more rider dependent.